Every country should have a free health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

The number of deaths in hospitals and homes increases by the day. The cause of these deaths is in more often than one, the inability to pay for treatments due to the high cost of drugs and access to medical facilities.

I think that every country should have free health services for its citizens as this would go a long way in reducing the high death rates due to illness.

I remember when I was pregnant and when it was time for my delivery, I was told to pay N200,000 for a C-Section. It wasn’t easy gathering the money but my husband and I were able to get it and paid for the surgery. After the successful surgery, I was given another bill to my bewilderment. This bill contained hidden charges. I was detained in the hospital till my husband was able to raise the outstanding amount. Some hospitals would not even attempt treating a patient no matter how critical his or her condition and this in most cases is the cause of the rising death in the health sector.

For example, in Nigeria, where I come from, one can be placed under the National Health Insurance Scheme. This has really helped so many Nigerians in covering their medical bills of which they would not have been able to cover without it.Unfortunately, this insurance scheme is only available to person such who are gainfully employed in either the public or private sector and with the alarming level of unemployment in the country, Nigeria has a long way to go in creating affordable health services for its citizens.