Every country should have a free health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In every developed country, medical facilities, including advanced and expensive treatments, are provided to its citizens free of cost and it is possible only because such countries have highly developed and well established systems and services. I believe that government of every country should be responsible enough to provide its people with free health services but it cannot be possible for under developed countries.

Those countries which are striving hard to access basic needs; it would not be their priority to provide people with medical facilities but to offer them basic necessities like food, shelter and clothing. In order to be capable of having such facilities, it is crucial to understand the complete cycle of systems. In developed countries, their administration is really well organised and equipped with the latest technology. Their citizens pay their taxes with honesty and responsibility which enable governments to establish free services like health. This can be possible in developed countries only because their people have employment and regular income sources. Whereas, citizens of third world country do not have either of these, then how can they submit taxes and as a result would not get free health services. Therefore, by keeping in view these facts, this cannot be applied on all governments.

However, developed states should necessarily help people in establishing cost free hospital services. They should cover cost of any disease no matter whether minor or major; basic or chronicle. It is their first and foremost obligation to introduce policies and laws which give support to pharmaceutical industry so that they conduct more research in identifying better ways of cure.

To conclude, provision of free medical assistance by the governments should be their top preference, but many third world countries spend their funds in other critical areas, such as in offering a safe place of living and food to its citizens. Therefore, this facility, undoubtedly, should be cost free but not every nation can have it.