Every year more and more students choose to study online rather than attend classes on campus

What do u think are the causes of this? What solutions can you suggest?

Studying online is becoming increasingly popular. Each year more students opt to study online as opposed to attending classes on campus. This essay will discuss why this is happening and put forward several solutions for this issue.

The main cause for students to take online classes is convenience. Most students are stressed for time and work part time and find it easier to take classes base on their availability. The latest research shows that at least 50% of students work part time and find difficult to balance their schedules. Ultimately, online learning makes it convenient for students to stick to the study schedule.

The second reason why students are opting for online study over in-class study is because of the increasing effectiveness of learning technology. Every day there are breakthroughs in e-learning which improve traditional classroom teaching techniques. For example, on-demand video allows students to stop and pause the video and watch it later, which contributes to comprehension of subject matter. These technological developments are happening rapidly and are improving upon the effectiveness of classroom-based learning.

In this era of rapid technological advancement and declining interest of students towards on-campus studying, there are several steps that universities can to remediate or resolve the issue. Firstly, they increase the on-campus resources. Secondly, they can upgrade the lecture content. Thirdly, they can enhance the use of technology and blend it tutorials. All these measures would help attracting students back to class.

This essay discussed some causes for why students prefer to study online rather than on-campus and also suggested solutions to help changing this current situation.