Few people devote time to hobbies nowadays Say why you think this is the case and what effect this has on the individual and society in general Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

These days, the majority of people are not entertaining their leisure time as much as past. The root causes of a hobbyless lifestyle and its impacts on other aspects of people and society are the concerns in each community.

Having a hobby requires sufficient free time in your schedule to regularly participate in an activity of your choice. However, nowadays, most people are busy with work, family, commuting, etc., leaving little time for leisure activities. For example, when I was a student, I used to play football with my friends 3 times a week because I had plenty of spare time that let me have some fun. Nevertheless, now, a busy working schedule and long commuting times have made it impossible to schedule any hobby. Furthermore, engaging in leisure activities has become expensive and out of reach for many people.

I believe in the long term, this can drastically damage an individual’s mental health and consequently affect the whole society negatively. Hobbies distract our thoughts from unpleasant issues and give us a feeling of relief, on the opposite side without them life would become extremely boring and depressing. For example, I usually arrive home too tired to do anything but rest for the next work day. Despite a good night's sleep, my mind remains exhausted. On the other hand, there is a belief that only a happy man can create happiness in others. Thus, undoubtedly, not only unhappy members cannot help each other but they might even degrade others' happiness.

In conclusion, as a matter of fact, there is a direct relationship between entertainment and happiness. Thus, people's less amusement due to their busy life and also costly entertainment would lead them towards an unhappy lifestyle and consequently society.