Fewer and fewer young people are choosing to become teachers. Why do young people not want to be teachers? How this could be changed?

Teachers play a vital role in the progress and development of the society. They are responsible in shaping the personality of the children who are the future of our nation. However, the number of young people opting for a career in teaching has greatly reduced as the profession offers minimal benefits when compared to corporate jobs and is characterized by slow or no progress. It is essential that certain long-term benefits and skilled training are provided by the government to encourage people to choose to become a teacher.

Each profession offers certain allowances to the employee by the employer. But the job of a teacher provides very low-key benefits in return for the efforts and contribution of the teachers. For instance, if we compare with government jobs or multinational corporations, there are no side allowances like gratuity or provident fund for teachers. Moreover, the job of a teacher follows a limited or no progress in the learning for the teachers. In other words, teachers do not have the opportunities to upgrade their knowledge according to the latest market skills and trends.

To ensure a remarkable future for the coming generations, the existence of a majority of skilled and talented teachers is crucial. Firstly, government should provide certain benefits and allowances for teachers such as provident fund and pension after retirement. Secondly, free boot camps and training about the latest development and advancement in each of the academic subjects will encourage more people to take up teaching as a career choice.

To recapitulate, skillful and knowledgeable teachers are a necessity for any society to develop. Many are reluctant to be a teacher due to the lack of financial security and slow progress rate. Therefore, quality return for the efforts of teachers needs to be provided to motivate more and more young people to have a career in teaching.