Fewer and fewer young people are choosing to become teachers. Why do young people not want to be teachers? How this could be changed?

Generations ago, teaching was considered an extremely well-respected job, and in some countries it is still true. Nevertheless, in many parts of the world throughout the last decade, there has been a sharp decline in the number of young people who want to become teachers. This essay will look at the reasons for this and propose some solutions.

One of the main causes of the problem is that teachers’ salaries are dramatically lower than in many other jobs on the market. In other words, teachers pay has not kept pace with that of other professions, such as law or medicine. It can be illustrated by the following example, that in the UK a solicitor with 5 years experience will earn far more than a teacher with the same experience. The solution is for the government to raise teachers pay significantly, which, in turn, would attract more outstanding young individuals into the profession.

Another tremendous problem is that many children do not behave well in class. That is to say, that teachers frequently have to deal with pupils who disobey them, which almost all the time causes them to give up teaching. This tends to put off potential teachers as well. To tackle this issue, parents should give their children a sense of respect for teachers, in order to influence on their disrespectful behavior in class.

Taking all these points into consideration, it can be concluded that teaching has become a drastically less popular job in many countries due to factors such as low salary and pupils offending behavior. Needless to say, that this is a serious problem, and unless we can get more talented young people to become teachers, the education of our children will suffer.