Fewer schools are requiring children to learn and improve their handwriting skills. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this trend?

Many people fancy that handwriting skills are no longer vital in this technological era, hence, they opine that children do not require endow time to grind their handwriting skills, especially when they have typing technology which will be used for the rest of the life instead of writing. Alas! They have a misguided opinion. I strongly believe that handwriting is important even important in today’s digital world.

Handwriting dexterity is crucial as it is an art of expressing themselves through clear and concise writing. This, in turn, improves their academic and professional performance. I strongly utter that, writing is not just putting words on paper but it plays a vital role in expressing and learning idea. Moreover, while attempting pen-paper exam they have to write in the exam hence, it becomes minuscule part of their classroom learning but it becomes a stress for the student who does not possess clear handwriting. For instance, during the exam, they have to write lengthy and clear answers within a certain time limit which enables them to score high in the class but to complete the exam on time their writing deteriorates and becomes unattainable feat.

More importantly, handwriting proficiency builds confidence. The more pupils practice this skill, the more their writing talent will be polished. Additionally, handwriting aids memory. For example, if a person copy-pastes something without struggling he is more likely to forget it but if he has written it and lost the paper then he will remember it.

In the end, the computer and digital era cannot replace the necessity of handwriting skills. This talent not only boosts confidence and improves academic performance and success.