Film stars and music celebrities may earn a great deal of money and live in luxurious surroundings, but many of them lead unhappy lives.Do you agree? To what extent is this the price they pay for being famous?

Despite their success, many famous actors and musicians are considered to live unhappily. In my opinion, this is true in the majority of the cases since the price of being a star is heavy and outweighs the status achieved. In fact, a considerable number of show business industry’s members suffer of mental issues.

Nowadays, glamorous celebrities have the reputation of living in an exciting way. For example, most of them experience vacations in exotic and amazing places with no expense spared. Evidently, whoever has gained popularity, wealth and admiration might be envied by many people, because he has obtained what everyone desires. To name just a few, beautiful cars and houses, all goods that money and success can buy.

However, being a star has its own drawbacks and celebrities reveal to be victim of their own success. Firstly, they are more exposed than anyonelse, just think the lack of privacy due to the existence of gossip magazines. Furthermore, celebrities are well know for be drug or alcohol addicted and this abuse has dramatically driven some of them to death. Moreover, there is an increase in number of suicides among stars which is terribly shocking. Their self-destructive behaviour may be caused by a sense of feeling rejection, which is an emotion experienced by every human being. Once they get the peak, the fear of loosing the love from the audience comes, leading to several mental illness such as depression and anxiety.

To conclude, I think that the common proverb 'money cannot buy happiness' is surely true and the miserable lives of stars are a prove that our convictions on the link between material goods and happiness are an illusion.