Food travels thousands of miles from producers to consumers. Some people think that it would be better for the environment and economy if people only ate the local food produced by farmers. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a true fact that people should buy locally grown or produced food rather than imported food because it helps to boost local economy and also helpful to environment. Although many may see it as a positive phenomenon, it is not a trend without drawbacks. Both merits and demerits will be discussed before a reasonable conclusion is reached.

The first and foremost advantage is that it helps to the betterment of society. In other word, if public buys only traditional food such as vegetables, fruits, packed food and so on, the taxes on this item go directly to local states. These taxes use for development and it ultimately benefits society.

The second advantage is that the local people get cheaper food than that comes from another place because locally produced food does not require any transportation. Moreover, vehicle, flights and so on are a large producer of green-house gases and this result in global warming. However, Due to the least transportation use in local food, there is no harm in the environment.

On the other hand, the use of local food also has a negative aspect. People cannot get variation in food. So, after eating local food, they may be developed a tolerance of taste. This result in a decreased demand for local food. For example, a recent survey conducted by an eminent food blogger David Mosely at the United States revealed that if people eat same food continuous for 20 days, more than 40 % people get saturated from that food and never eat that food again.

After analysing both the views, I am of the opinion that there are more benefits of using local food than their drawbacks.