Foreign tourist abroad should be charged more than local people to visit a country’s cultural and historical attractions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Write at least 250 words

It is generally observed that the visiting prices for historical and heritage sites have a vast difference for locals and foreigners. In my opinion, charging outsiders more compared to locals is acceptable to certain extent to generate revenue but only if they are awarded some extra advantages to make them feel special since they have paid more.

To Begin with, it is a huge misconception that all the visitors are from rich background so they can easily afford costly entry fees. Some of them are investing their life saving, which they may have earned by sweating their blood, to travel and explore various cultural sites throughout the world. Charging them heavily just based on their country of origin when locals are paying minimal fee, is an open discrimination towards them. For Instance, Taj Mahal, which is the central attraction for foreigners, charges 1000INR more compared to Non-Indian citizens. In short, every visitor should be treated equally and charged equally.

However, these old historical places, which literally have stood against the test of time, require enormous fund for its maintenance. Since authorities are always struggling with scarcity of money to manage such places, this extra money levied from foreigners come handy. Moreover, people, who have traveled from various nations, are more excited about the beautiful architecture and diversified culture so they do not mind paying a few extra bucks. So, charging them little more is acceptable as long as the difference minimal.

The most effective solution would be to award some extra privileges, such as allowing them to carry cameras to few places, as a way of compensation for the extra cash. In this way, not only they would feel special but also encourage them to pay even more without having any hard feelings.

In Conclusion, little imbalance in prices is acceptable for financial support if the same is awarded with some special services. So that tourism industry can prosper without having any deteriorating impact.