Foreign visitors should pay more than local visitors for cultural and historical attractions.
To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?
It is sometimes argued that tourists from overseas should be charged more than local
residents to visit important sites and monuments. I completely disagree with this idea.
The argument in favour of higher prices for foreign tourists would be that cultural or
historical attractions often depend on state subsidies to keep them going, which means that
the resident population already pays money to these sites through the tax system. However,
I believe this to be a very shortsighted view. Foreign tourists contribute to the economy of
the host country with the money they spend on a wide range of goods and services,
including food, souvenirs, accommodation and travel. The governments and inhabitants of
every country should be happy to subsidies important tourist sites and encourage people
from the rest of the world to visit them.
If travelers realized that they would have to pay more to visit historical and cultural
attractions in a particular nation, they would perhaps decide not to go to that country on
holiday. To take the UK as an example, the tourism industry and many related jobs rely on
visitors coming to the country to see places like Windsor Castle or Saint Paul’s Cathedral.
These two sites charge the same price regardless of nationality, and this helps to promote
the nation’s cultural heritage. If overseas tourists stopped coming due to higher prices,
there would be a risk of insufficient funding for the maintenance of these important
buildings.
In conclusion, I believe that every effort should be made to attract tourists from overseas,
and it would be counterproductive to make them pay more than local residents.