Is freedom of speech necessary in a free society?

Give reasons for your answer.

A free society is not truly free until its citizens can express their views without any fear. The freedom of speech is highly essential for a progressive community because it is very important practice for a healthy democracy and people living in such environment feel much more satisfied and happy.

Firstly, a nation cannot be called democratic without free reign to put across ones thought, this is fundamental of a democracy and a crucial practice for it. If a nation does not allow public to talk then it turns into a dictatorship and this is by no means a free society. Speaking in term of government, freedom of speed is vital because without it, the opposition sitting in the parliament cannot stop the government by taking extreme steps which can have devastated effects on whole nation. The nation of Venezuela is facing repercussions of wrong decisions taken by the authority, if only professionals were able to communicate these predictions to the government, economy may have not crumbled. The significance of free speech must not be avoided.

Another good reason to follow this is level of positive satisfaction and happiness it bring the people. It may sound unimportant, but a country will progress only if its citizens have a sense of fulfilled life. An oppressed society can never bring out best of its people. A known example is North Korea where people do not have a right to speak their mind, and the country is one of the most unhappiest place on the Earth, while Scandinavian union is known to be most relaxed and happiest place to live and that's they always see high flux of immigrants. A relatively small aspect like freedom of speech can do wonders for a society.

In conclusion, the expression of free speech not only keep a community intact but also helps in transforming it into an ideal place to live.