Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individual and society. To what extend do you agree?

Digital networking platforms are thought to have deep bad influence on people and society by many. This essay largely agrees to the statement because such platforms can alienate a person and also can spread fake news like wildfire which can result in devastated situations.

The aim of any networking website is to connect people virtually; however this can lead to a person being isolated from rest of the surroundings. This has become a trend everywhere from family to public places. One of the age groups majorly affected are adolescents who are always engrossed in their phones. At large, it does not appear to be a serious issue but it is as nobody can know what information a person is checking or to whom is he talking. It has become difficult for parents to determine about online activities and this can have unpreventable consequences. A recent study of effects of social media done on age group of 13-50 demonstrated that almost all subjects have started spending more time alone after signing up on different websites, and this was seen largest in age group of 15-19. Also, another different study done by Beijing University has found direct link between usage of social media and rise in suicide among people. So a person just does not stop socializing but also can be in wrong place among wrong company because of networking sites.

Also, these virtual public networks can sway the public opinion at large and the repercussions may commence a rift between people. Because of the ease of usability and availability of these platforms, certain unsocial elements take advantage of them and post fake details on social media. There is generally no moderation on information and many can believe it without checking the authenticity. For an instance, there were deaths in some states of India due to fake messages of some people being child abductors. The messages were rounded in message sharing application What’s app and innocent persons were lynched being mistaken for kidnappers. After this, What’s app had to limit the number of forwarded messages by a user.

To conclude, online communication sites can leave a bad influence on a person as well as society. This can result into people being emotionally disconnected from their family, friends and take steps which can overwhelm the life of others. In addition to affecting people individually, networking sites can be a platform to pass wrong information having serious ramifications like deaths of many.