Happiness if often considered difficult to define. Why is this? What factors determine happiness?

The word happiness can be described in many ways, however, it has been sort of an unachievable task to give a definition to it. This essay will explore the reason being that joy is an emotion and feeling of it always differs from person to person . Also, the essay will look into the aspects which decide happiness.

Happiness falls into the spectrum of emotions which cannot be put into certain words. The expression can be varied from one to another and there is no way the intensity of the feeling can be measured. The ambiguity associated with this feeling makes it very hard to express into fixed words. For an instance, a child will define happiness as laughing out loud while an adult going through depression may say laughing out loud is actually hiding the sorrow; for that person happiness could be just able to finish an easy task. Psychology has mentioned that it is easier to understand happiness; however, it is very difficult to express in writing.

Even though, it is a challenging task to decide the definition of joy, the reasons behind it can be easily predicted. In terms of physiology and anatomy, there are two hormones responsible for this emotion which are serotonin and dopamine. The release of these chemicals in our nervous system and blood will send the signals to brain indicating happiness. But the factors which drive the release of hormones are sense of achievement and fulfillment, good health and overall satisfaction with the surroundings. For example, a person having a stable employment, healthy relationships, no physical complications will feel much more happier than a wealthy, sick person. So having a good balance of everything will lead to happiness.

In conclusion, it can be said that even though happiness is explicitly tough to put in words because everyone feels it differently, the reasons can be decided which are balance of success, health, good relationships and satisfying approach to environment.