Is freedom of speech necessary in a society?

There is a controversial issue about the ability to speak freely in a democratic country. Some politicians say that there should be limits on this ability, while some journalists believe that it should be unlimited. In this essay, I will consider both points of view and agree with the idea of complete liberty.

Let us start with the reasons why some politicians state that governments should control the ability to express opinions. The first reason is that citizens may fall victim of extreme groups. Many people may be convinced to act with weapons against officials, when they listen to some destructive organizations, such as ISIS and AL-Qaeda. Another reason is that the right for privacy will be often neglected. Many celebrities and politicians, for example, complain about the intrusion into their private life by paparazzi, because the distinction between freedom of speech and individual rights is often obscure.

However, some journalists argue that officials should impose no restrictions on the right to speak openly. They justify their opinion with the following arguments. Firstly, freedom of speech leads to transparency of government. If media, for instance, highlights the act of bribery or injustice, people become aware of it and show their resentment to the government, which then investigates it and arrest the officials involved. Consequently, before taking money money from interested people illegally, the official think of the repercussions. Secondly, it gives people a sense of importance in society. People feel more confident and responsible for the future of the country, if they can express their concerns to the public openly. Therefore, they either take more responsibility at work or ask protection from authorities.

In conclusion, even though some politicians state that the government should limit freedom of speech to protect their voters, I think that the ability to express thoughts should be absolutely available.