The television is good for people.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of watching television.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is an issue about the influence of television on society. Some media presenters think that it is advantageous to the public, while some social workers argue that it creates many problems. This essay will consider the pros and cons of this source of information.

Let us start with the advantages of spending time on television. The first positive side is being aware of news. People, who watching TV, usually know what is happening in the country, so they can make wise decisions based on this knowledge. Another merit is having topics to discuss with close people. After watching television, people can share their opinions about what they have learned from TV, because it normally covers all events appealing to a wide range of audience. Furthermore, television gives people the opportunity to relax. People, who are subjected to much stress, can relieve it, because they can entertain themselves by different TV programs as well as movies.

Despite the positives effects of television, it has many demerits. Firstly, TV audience waste too much time. People could do more chores around the house, if they devoted less time to television. Secondly, they also receive a great deal of unnecessary information. Television is mostly full of shows, which enlightens nothing useful, but constant disagreement between family members. Moreover, TV viewers tend gain excessive weight. They suffer from obesity, since they do not move enough as soon as they have eaten a plenty of food.

In conclusion, even though television cause many advantages, it has many negative impacts on life as part of unhealthy lifestyle.