The gap between rich and poor is growing. What problems does this create? What can be done to tackle them?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, the disparity between the rich and the poor is growing. There are several problems associated with this epidemic. This essay proposes the major problems as improper development and unhealthy economic growth and presents appropriate solutions.

The main problems caused by the increasing gap are non-centralised development and unhealthy economic growth. Firstly, the disparity leads to the concentration of the development to the high-income groups in the society in a country. For example, the street in Mumbai, India, are occupied by slum-dogs, the poorest people. The situation has not changed for a decade.

However, the high-income groups have built multiplexes and multi-storied buildings. The second problem is unhealthy economic growth, which means the increase in a country's (or) world's per-capita income is occurring only due to increasing income levels of the rich. As a result, poor people have got clogged in a particular label and not able to improve beyond that.

In my opinion, the best solution to this problem is to increase the education and employment opportunities for the poor. First of all, several low-income groups cannot afford education. Thus, governments must ensure every person in the country is educated at least until undergraduate, by allocating appropriate funds. Individuals and companies can also contribute some amount for this purpose from their personal income. Secondly, the employment awareness should be increased among the poor. Several people are unaware of the opportunities since they cannot afford to attend seminars. The government can reserve some jobs for the poor to ensure their well-being.

After discussing the pertinent problems associated with increasing disparity, I felt that the only way to solve them is through joint efforts from the government, individuals, and companies.