Genetic engineering is an important issue in society today. Some people think that it will improve people’s lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

One of the most controversial issues today relates to gene manipulation. On one side of the argument are those who think that biotechnology is beneficial for the society, while others assume that it puts danger on human lives as well as living creatures. In this essay, I will consider both sides of the argument and then give my opinion on the matter.

Supporters of biogenetic may argue that using this technology people will be able to treat different genetic diseases, which were considered as incurable and fatal. Especially, if a woman had wrong genes and all her future children would be born with illness. Thus, genetic engineering will give a chance for those women to become mothers one day. In addition, biotechnology is widely spread in agriculture; using it humans are able to create crops that are able to endure the low temperature or resistant to insects or diseases.

However, opponents of the technology are afraid of negative consequences such as unpredictable side effects of gene manipulation. For instance, during conducting some genetic experiments on rats, along with targeted results scientists have discovered increased level of anger among experimental rats. Therefore, nobody really knows which kind of problems meddling with genes may create and it will be thoughtless to give carte blanche to biogenetic without considering all harmful effects. Additionally, it As well as this, even genetically modified plants cannot be seen as safe for human beings for the reason that they may cause severe allergy reactions.

In conclusion, both sides have their merits, on balance however, I believe that dangerous side effects of genetic engineering cannot be neglected and the governments should be very careful with permitting to use it for the masses, while laboratory studies should be continued.