Global warming is one of the most serious issues that the world is facing today. What are the causes of global warming and what measures can governments and individuals take to tackle the issue?

Global warming simply refers to the rise in temperature of Earth’s climate system which is mainly caused by human influence. In recent times, it has become a major global issue as it is affecting the various continents. This climate change has affected the sea levels causing it to rise by melting the ice in the Arctic sea and reduction of ice in Antarctica. The change in weather patterns has led to extreme weather conditions such as monsoon, tornado, tsunami, expansion of deserts etc.

However, many factors are said to cause climate change but mainly human activities. Some of the human activities that influence global warming include firstly, energy emission that is gases emitted from cars, planes etc. Secondly, green house gases: industrial revolution such as factories, power stations has increased the amount of greenhouse gases in the atmosphere. Thirdly, land usage is also a cause. For example, a change from a dark forest to grassland makes the surface lighter causing more reflection of sunlight. Finally, aerosols and soot which are man-made pollutants left at sea by ships while navigating it.

Consequently, a few measures from both individuals and government can help curb this world issue. These measures include mitigation by the reduction of greenhouse gas emissions or the enhancement of the capacity of carbon sinks to absorb greenhouse gases from the atmosphere. Furthermore, adapatation to the expected climate change for example, coastline protection and development of more resistant crops by individuals without government intervention. Finally, climate engineering that is the deliberate modification of the climate can help tackle this issue.

In conclusion, countries should come together to join the UNFCCC to help work out these few measures to control global warming.