A government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety. Therefore, some people think that the government should increase spending on defense but spend less on social benefits. To what extent do you agree?

It is argued that the state is responsible for the safety of its people, therefore the state should spend more in the security system as compared to social welfares. I completely agree, because of the rising tensions between different nations due to less supply of resources and murdering of people in the name of religion.

Scarcity of natural resources can create war-like situations between neighbouring countries, therefore it is essential for any nation to prepare for future clashes by improving their defence system. Natural resources are limited in quantity in this globe. Scientists of various nations are struggling to find an alternative to such issues or else to make minimum use. Failure in control of such things raises the tension in the region, which latter can create problems for the upcoming generations. For instance, drinking water is a precious natural resource and limited in quantity. Some countries are already dried up and they survive on filtration methods and some still have an abundant supply of water to feed many generations to come. This uneven distribution of water around the world can affect the relationships of neighbouring countries and results in a war-like situation. Thus, the government should spend money in order to improve its army.

Another factor is the rising tension by killing people in the name of religion. Every belief wants to show his dominance around the world and they believe their religion is greater than others. Competition to dominate sometimes emerge into war by killing the people of other religions. Therefore, the state should increase its budget to control such hate between people of a different religion. For instance, in news channels every day we listen to the killing of people in the name of religion, these criminally minded people must be controlled to make the world a safer place.

In conclusion, although the social aspects for mankind are important, the risk of war is increasing every day due to a limited supply of natural resources and hatred among people in the name of religion, thus it is necessary for the authority to spend more money in the defence budget to control such unwanted possibilities.