Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead.To what extent do yo u agree with this statement?

Legislators, nowadays, are under immense pressure to constructively allocate the budget to areas such as education and healthcare. Government spending on areas pertaining to arts especially music and theatre is considered futile. In my opinion, providing basic facilities to the general public is of substantial importance; however, this does not preclude the government to avoid spending in the field of arts due to benefits it generates for the people.

To begin with, expenditures on the construction of top-notch infrastructure related to public facilities are vital for the country’s development. A nation’s progress, as well as government performance, is measured by certain indicators linked to the standard of life its residents have access to. For instance, the high literacy rate is one of the key performance indicators which support the state’s economy in the long run due to its highly skilled workforce. Similarly, in order to improve the average lifespan of the people, lawmakers have to earmark an adequate amount of money for healthcare facilities.

On the other hand, any spending on arts being fruitful benefits and should not be considered squandered. Songs and theatre provides a great deal of entertainment to the people and concurrently add additional revenue to the economy as well. For instance, Islamabad arts council in Pakistan generates an average of $250 million annually by organizing concerts and stage dramas. Moreover, it provides a platform for local people to present their culture to the world.

To conclude, while allocating resources, the government must consider all the possible options and associated benefits; be it related to arts or education or healthcare.