Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest the money in public, services instead. To that extent do you agree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

According to many people, the investment in art liked music and theatre are not a good use of money. They believe that this money can be utilised to fulfil the increasing demand for public services like hospitals and schools. I agree with this statement to some extent. This essay will emphasise on the reasons why both are important to our society.

Our society is built up with various elements. According to few people, some of them may not be that crucial for our existence. They believe that a community needs hospitals with advanced types of equipment and schools with innovative technology for the development of a better society. For instance, a hospital with all the diagnostic equipment’s like computed tomographic scan enables cloches to detect diseases at early stages result in fewer mortalities. Thus, government authorities must invest more finances in these essential sectors to strengthen their basic infrastructure.

Despite the above facts, I still believe that field of arts is also important for a society if not equally. Artistic sculptures created over time help us to remember our cultured existence. The stories reenacted in theatrical performances enable us to relive the history or feels the emotion of an artist, as we get connected with them emotionally at a subconscious level. Furthermore, the music songs whether traditional folklore or modern pop songs provide us the relaxing environment and entertainment, within preservation of our cultural inheritance.

In conclusion, I can confidently state that government should invest more in public services. However, I do not believe that financial funding for the futuristic section is a total wastage.