Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead.

To what extent do you agree with this statement??

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Write at least 250 words.

In many people's standpoints, spending on arts like music and theater is a misuse of the budget. Although I approve the government to utilize the money to construct and upgrade the public infrastructure, I do not think the investment in arts is a wastage.

Our society is composed of various factors, some of which may seem not so vital to human lives. The government should spend a large sum of the budget on public services, for they are the factors that directly impact the quality of life of the population. Take hospitals, for instance. A hospital with advanced types of equipment will have more capability to detect diseases precisely and timely, leading to the fact that the patients will be treated effectively in a short time. Therefore, the government authorities must invest more finances in strengthening the infrastructure to ensure citizen's lives.

On the other hand, arts are worth spending a part of the government budget. Thanks to literary arts, modern people can gain a deep insight into how their ancestors' lives were in the past or how their friends globally spend their days. People can easily realize that music is ubiquitous in daily life. A possible explanation for its popularity is its ability to comfort listeners with rhythm and lyrics. In other words, music has a significant effect on people's emotions and feelings. Due to their benefits, some of which are abovementioned, arts deserve investment from the government to enhance its availability to people worldwide.

In conclusion, I strongly advocate the government's spending on advancing public services. In addition, I think the budget spent on arts is not wasteful but worthy.