The government's investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public services instead.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Only investing governmental funds in public services and overlooking the construction of cultural production is not advocated for urban management. For instance, in America, the consumption of cultural production like music, library and cartoon can occupy 18 to 25 percent of the total GDP. The government's investment in arts, music and theatre will not only bring giant social advantages, but also promote individual growth for the public.

From the social perspective, the cultural facilities like galleries, opera houses and museums can boost huge economic benefits, which are not inferior to the amount that public services can provide. With the financial support from the government, numbers of movie producers and record companies are building their exclusive brands, which can improve their popularity and boost the influence of domestic culture.

From the individual perspective, such investment to artistic facilities can offer an excellent environment for the exhausted people to take a break and relax themselves, which makes great contributions to the healthy mind state of the public. The soaring number of these artistic places presents a correct direction that the government is attaching more importance to the improvement of public aesthetic appreciation, which is vital for the society's far and long development. Besides, for the young kids that are getting education, the aesthetic teaching is also essential for children's comprehensive development, which means the investment for these fields is absolutely necessary.

Nowadays, people are paying more attention to the spiritual enjoyment than living materials. The investment for arts is as meaningful as it for the basic public services. The government should take the responsibility to provide more cultural productions to satisfy people's demand.