The government should make people take responsibility for their actions to the environment. To what extent do you agree?

Many responsibilities people should take towards the environment, but this cannot happen if the government didn't do any step. People think that actions must take from them first, and others disagree and believe that government should take this responsibility.

On one hand, some people agree that people should take responsibility for their actions to the environment. First, oblige people must oblige themselves to start recycling from home, and learn how to no throw their wastes randomly on the roads or out from their cars. Second, they must encourage themselves to buy hybrid or electric cars, which are eco-friendly and won't harm the environment and decrease air pollution. Moreover, people must obey the rules and respect them, to avoid fines if they try to pollute the environment, by burning or cutting trees and polluting water, such as factories disposing their chemicals in the sea water or rivers. For example, in my country people don't respect their environment and throw their garbage's without recycling, plus the government don't take any actions. In my opinion I disagree, the government should take strict actions on every person is not respecting the environment and impose extra fines on them.

On the other hand, several people think the opposite, and believe that the government should take responsibility before forcing people to take any actions. First, to encourage people to use eco-friendly things, the government must decrease or remove tariff fees on these items, like electric cars and solar system. Second, the government should improve road sector, give the priority to the bicycles instead of cars and create a lane for them. Moreover, they should ban plastic in all homes, restaurants and stores and oblige people to stop using it. However, the government must increase its awareness campaigns about pollution side effect and causes. For example, the Ministry of Environment in Lebanon, lately imposed fines on everyone try to throw garbage on the road or outside the car, and the process began, and people started respecting this rule. From my side I agree and believe that the government should force itself by rules on its people and take the full responsibility.

In conclusion, some people think that people must take responsibility for their actions towards the environment, others believe this is the government role. In my opinion, the government should force its regulation on people and oblige them to follow and respect their environments.