The government is spending a lot of money to discover life on other planets. Some people think that government is wasting money and should spend more money addressing the problems of public.

To what extent do you agree?

Space has always appealed to many people, who want to answer the question about the existence of life on other planet. Therefore, some scientists in space deny the fact of that countries are pointlessly funding their study of space. This essay is opposed to their refusal for the following reasons.

The first reason is that search for life in cosmos takes a great deal of resources, but brings few benefits to humans at present. To examine the surface of another planet, scientists need powerful computers, telescopes and space shuttles, but such expenses generate relatively benefit for society. Another argument is that the money allocated to such ambitious goals should be used to support poor people. Many people live in unsatisfactory conditions and suffer from malnutrition so instead of squandering money on space programs the government could improve the quality of life in impoverished areas. Moreover, such attempts in finding non-terrestrial organisms always end to no avail. Despite exploiting the state-of-the-art technologies, scientists yet have not found any signs of life on the other planets of the solar system.

Nevertheless, some scientists claim that attempts in detecting creatures in cosmos should continue at the same cost. They justify their opinion by the fact that they make other inventions while preparing devices for exploring other planets. Many apparatus, such as computers, the Internet and mobile phones, were devised as part of the mission of sending astronauts into space and landing on the Moon. Another argument is that the results of experiments in outer space find application in other areas of life. For example, computers, that were initially used for space programs, are now widely used in medicine and calculation. Furthermore, the study of universe raises the image of the country. Nations, which are engaged in space exploration, usually attract the attention of the whole world as well as investors.

In conclusion, even though some scientists think that people should keep exploring the space for aliens, I think that they have explored enough, and it is the time to draw attention to social issues.