Government spending on restoration of old buildings in cities should be stopped.

Instead they should spend the money for housing and road development.

Do you agree or disagree?

A section of society asserts that the government should not squander money on repairing broken and damaged buildings, and instead the authorities should invest this portion of funds in the development of houses and roads. I agree with the assertion and think that modern problems require modern solutions. Hence, there is a pressing need to develop more residential areas and roadways.

The population explosion has become the root cause of various problems, especially in urban areas. As more people relocate to the cities in search of better opportunities and a modern lifestyle, they exert immense pressure on the existing infrastructure of the city. Therefore, before investing money in ancient and dilapidated structures, there is a dire need to improve the current facilities, such as streets, roads, lightening and housing, for the survival of the city. By shifting the monetary funds from repair work of old buildings to enhancing the modern architecture, the government can provide shelter to homeless people. For instance, the cost that is being spent in the restoration work of an old building is sufficient to erect an entirely new building which will not only have 5 to 10 times more capacity but also will be equipped with modern amenities.

Furthermore, modern buildings are designed to cater to the needs of the current population, whereas older buildings were built based on the plans of the former times. The establishment of rising skylines and towers, tailored to contain facilities such as water and gas pipelines and electricity, is an illustration of the paradigm shift that has taken place in order to meet the demands of the modern population.

To conclude, a radical change is required in the way the government address the problems of highly populated cities. The government ought to focus more on the current conditions of a city, and hence, spending on residential and transportation sector would be a sensible decision.