The number of older people is increasing. Some people think it will cause a problem to their countries, others believe this group is important to society. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The growth and development of technology in the healthcare sector have brought a paradigm shift which has increased the average life expectancy of human beings. Therefore, a section of society asserts that the ageing population will have harmful effects and impede the economic growth of a nation, while others believe that this age group is also pivotal for the country. I agree with the latter and think that all the age groups, ranging from the juveniles to the elderlies, are crucial for society.

The people who consider that the aged population is a liability of a nation substantiate their claims by proposing that the elderlies will consume tax payer's money and intensify the depletion of resources, exerting pressure on the younger generations. Once people reach the retirement age, they have no other means of earning and thus, depend entirely on a pension provided by the government, which is mainly collected by the existing workforce of the nation. Furthermore, aged people require not only the basic amenities but also specialised care to sustain, thereby causing their children or the community services to cater to their needs while they are unable to produce anything fruitful. The lenient immigration policies of Canada for the younger generations because of the growing aged population of Canada illustrates the detrimental effects of older people on the economy of a country.

Nevertheless, from an enlightened standpoint, even the older generations persist a lot that they can offer. For one, the elderlies are much wiser who have attained a colossal amount of experience in their lifetime. Thus, they can impart knowledge to the younger generations, teach them about history and also assist their families in making informed decisions. For another, neglecting the elderlies would not only be inhumane but will also violate the fundamental human rights. The older population have already paid their dues, and hence, it is now their time to live in harmony along with their families.

To conclude, indubitably, there are certain challenges in serving the older people; however, being a part of a civilised society, it is our duty to provide for every age group and build mutual understanding with them.