We cannot help everyone in the world that needs help, so we should only be concerned with our own communities and countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

A section of society asserts that it is impossible to help every nation in the world, and thus, communities and countries will thrive if they pay attention to meeting their demands only. I completely disagree with the assertion and believe that in this contemporary world, every country, in one way or the other, depends on other nation for sustenance.

To begin with, there are multiple economically deprived countries where people live under poverty, and therefore, these nations do not possess enough power or resources even to fulfil the demands of their citizens. In such conditions, the affluent nations can become a helping hand and provide financial as well as strategical aids. The developed nations, who can afford to assist the countries under destitution, are morally obliged to offer help because, otherwise, thousands of people would lose their lives while trying to make the two ends meet. For instance, development of the parliament house in Afghanistan by India has immensely improved the political conditions in a war inflicted nation.

Furthermore, in this era of globalisation, not only the economy but also the survival of people in many countries are dependent on other nations. A large number of countries survive by trading invaluable commodities, such as crude oil, spices, herbs, electronic gadgets and medicines, whose economy would collapse if they will focus only on the goods that they have. Moreover, a host of developed countries seek for appropriate skills that they require to enhance their workforce and to meet the demands which cannot be accomplished by the locals. The introduction of provincial nominee program by the Canadian Immigration to fulfil the requirement of workers in various occupations is an illustration of mutual benefits that the people from underprivileged nations and the government of a developed country can gain.

To conclude, no nation can flourish independently. The economy of every country relies on other countries, and therefore, the best way to live in peace and harmony is by developing strong bonds and mutual understanding with everyone.