Governments spend a lot of money on public celebrations such as national holidays and public festivals. Some people say that the government spends too much on this and that they should use this money on other useful things.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

National events and public celebrations are paramount for the country and its people because it refers to the people values, cultures, and traditions. However, some people believe that the political party of the nation should not spend an excessive amount on festivals and should instead use it for the development of the country. This essay will argue, the need for the government to spend the amount on festivities is justifiable.

On one hand, the public ceremonies help to develop the feeling of nationality among the people irrespective of caste, gender, and religion to gather together to remember and respect the period of struggle and glory of the great leaders of the past. Furthermore, it develops a sense of unity among people. To elucidate, In India, the Independence Day on 15th August is commemorated on a large scale to recollect the struggles of the freedom fighters to free India from the rule of the Britishers.

On the other hand, some denizens worry that government spending money on national events and festivals is useless. Instead, funds should be allocated for the development of infrastructure like hospitals, medical care treatment, schools, colleges which will contribute to the overall growth of the society. Moreover, it will not only provide the opportunity of employment to many people but will also improve the literacy rate as well as the health condition of the people. To illustrate, a recent study has depicted that countries spend more billion dollars of their funds on celebrating events and festivals which can otherwise be used for technological, infrastructural and social enhancement.

To Conclude, I vehemently agree that money used by the ministry of the nation for celebrating the festivities and social events is essential as it ensures to bring peace and union in the country