A growing numbers of cities are making their centres pedestrian-only zones.What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Population density forced the municipality officials to take some measures in order to control heavy traffics in the downtown. It is becoming increasingly popular among the cities to ban the commuting of any motorized vehicles. The argument that allowing people to pass the city centers just on foot is repudiated and supported by many. This essay will analyze this argument before declaring a position.

To begin with, the proponents of this trend believe that it can help reduce the amount of airborne pollutant in the air. For instance, consider a car-free downtown without any fumes exhaustion can help us inhale less polluted air. Furthermore, this approach forces individuals to leave their sedentary lifestyle aside and walk for some hours. Thus, this process not only helps the environment but also the people by actuating them to do some exercises.

An alternative position argues that it is against the fast pace of life in the modern times. For example, not being able to drive your car to the downtown can delay your personal affairs. This trend does not move in tandem with the pace of living nowadays and can cause annoyance. Therefore, the perpetual prevention of vehicles into the city centers seems to be inapplicable.

As mentioned aforesaid, the pros and cons find this argument controversial. While, it may be considered an Eco-friendly activity and is prosperous for people, its negative consequence is its conflict with modern and quick way of living. However, this drawback can be resolved should the guidance and driving officials consider this prohibition just in rush hours. In conclusion, I hope that this kind of environmentally friendly activities will become prevalent in the foreseeable future.