A growing population is a big problem in many countries. Should the government provide new homes in the cities or countryside?

Since ages, increasing populous has a direct impact on dwelling spaces. In most countries, population has raised to alarming levels and it is a challenging task to providing shelter to them, but the real question is where to build new infrastructure in, urban or rural site. In my opinion, government must pan to build new homes in villages as we have a lot of space and resources.

To begin with, building new houses in cities does not seems to be a viable solution as it creates a lot of problems to it’s habitants. Firstly, urban landscape was build decades ago and the planners has not thought that a lot of people will migrate to cities leading to over population. Secondly, cities have limited resources and it is quite a task to provide its habitants with food and water. Last but not the least, modern cities are the biggest contributor of pollution, thereby making it difficult to live in.

On the other hand, building infrastructure in rural areas seems like a great idea and a viable solution to decongest our cities. It will generate employment for people not only in developing phase but afterward as well. Government can shift industries where raw materials are available in abundance, in order to save transportation cost and pollutants. Needless to mention, rural area has a lot of workforce which can be utilised, and it will restrain people from moving to cities in search of job. For instance, India Government is providing subsidiary as well as loans to setup vegetable processing industries in villages. With the result, it creates jobs, saves fuel and reduces pollution.

To my mind, we must build new homes in countryside as we have abundance of land, resources and workforce; and shifting industries to rural area will ensure people get livelihood. To conclude, cities are congested because of which a shift in approach is required to make our country progressive.