Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists, but not local people. Why this is the case? What can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

Museums has been a good source of information since ages. It’s been observed that major footfall in museum is of tourists instead of local population or natives. In my opinion, most of the museums provides the same experience over and again and we can renovate historical landmark as well as include technology to attract localities.

To begin with, there is no denying on the fact that our museums have the same ambiance for decades. It has been difficult to convince local popular to re-visit any monument as they have nothing new to explore and engage with. Usually most of them does not get a good feedback from their friend or relatives because of which they never think of visiting historical places again. For example, I’m a Delhiite and I’ve visited Red Fort when I was 5-year-old. Since then whenever someone visit there and they share the same details and experience that I had decades ago, eventually making it difficult for me to plan a visit to Red Fort.

On the other hand, if we renovate and embed technology then we can catch attention of native people. People will love to learn and perform old techniques attached to historical sites; it will help them in learning how people lived in the past. We can use technology where people can interact and learn through KIOSK’s about history associated with artifact and other relevant knowledge of that era. Additionally, once we have been installed then we can keep on updating information on them to cover wider hues of audience. Light and Sound show performed in Akshardham, is a best amalgamation of technology and information, provide information on how earth was created, and people are glued to it as they get feel connected with it. Thereby enabling them to visit over again.

To my mind, localities do not visit to museums or historical sites a s they get similar experience no matter how many times they visit. We can user technology as an helping aid and revive the lost touch/interest.