Individuals should improve the environment or is it the government and large companies that should take action?

It is being long debated topic, for over a century, weather people, government or giant corporate should take effective measures in rectifying our environment. I believe, it must be a combined effort of every individual, government and big enterprises as each contributor has a specific role to play in uplifting our environmental condition.

To begin with, people think that they have limited resources, in terms of money, to fix our atmosphere, but they forget that we can take tiny steps in our everyday life to make a difference. People can contribute by switching to green initiatives, suggested by government, whenever possible like using solar energy, rainwater harvesting, switching off Air Conditioners when not in use, and lots more. Citizens must plant trees and spread awareness among their circle For example, our society members have planted and adopted over 700 trees in a span of 2years and we have switched over 50 families on solar water heater, which not only saves environment but saves on electricity bills.

On the other hand, efforts put in by individuals certainly makes a difference, but they have small impact overall. Government and giant companies can make a big difference as that can plunge in more funds. Big companies can collaborate with government to invest in researching new way to improve our environment. Simultaneously, government can make new law that gives tax relaxation to people or companies that are using green way in order to create awareness in those who don’t. A best example would be of HCL Technology, HCL employees has planted more than 2 lakh saplings, in sector 150 Noida, in a span of 2 years. HCL and government are now looking after them in collaboration and their survival rate is over 80 percent.

To my mind, improving our environment is a collective effort of all, (individuals, government and big entities) and all of us play a specific role in fixing it. To summarise, people must adapt toward green ways of living and government and large organisation must collaborate to find ways to improve environment.