With the growing world population one of the most pressing issues is that of feeding such a large number of people. Some people think that GM foods offer a viable solution to this problem.

To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Population in many countries is thrving beyond the alarming rate and providing food to all, is becoming a matter of huge concern. A segment of society assert that GM food is the best alternative, to overcome the problem of food shortage. I have dissenting opinion and believes that GM crops production is not the effective way to deal with the problem, as it has several side effects.

The predominant reason for avoiding genetically modified crops is its harmful effect on the human health. Naturally produced food is unequivocally beneficial, as it contain all the natural ingredients which are required by our body. Although scientists try to add all the vitamins and mineral in this crops along with increase in production, but these artificially increase in production is like playing with nature, whenever human tried to alter the nature, environment has always given the reply, same is the case with GM crops. For instance, many people are suffering for various diseases because of eating this unhealthy food. Therefore, GM crops can feed the growing population, but it is of no use because it will results into numerous health issues.

On the other hand, if government really want to overcome the food shortage problem their are ways to tackle this. Primarily, motivating people to opt for farming as profession, most of the farmers are illiterate specially in third world countries. They do not have any idea of effective utilization of land. If state provide proper knowledge of crop insurance, purchase the produced crops at better rate, more literate and educated people will take farming as profession and ultimately production will increase. Apart from this spreading awareness about the adverse effects of increasing population, will solve the problem to some some extend in long run.

In conclusion, Gm crop may be the easiest way to increase the food production, but not the ideal way. I think the controlling the population and inspiring specialist people to start farming as career is the better solution. Health of the citizens is the most important factor to consider along with increasing agricultural production.