Healthcare should not be provided for the free regardless of a person’s income. The health of an individual is in his own hands. To what extent you agree or disagree.

Many people hold the notion that health subsidies should not be given to citizens irrespective of their financial status, but I disagree with that. No doubt, everyone is responsible for keeping themselves fit but it is the government’s responsibility as well to ensure their citizens are entitled to have medical benefits.

Recent changes in lifestyle have had unfavorable effects on people’s health. Also, jobs in metros are so demanding that people are unable to pay attention to their mental and physical health, therefore, the government should assure that its citizens have easy access to cheap and quality healthcare, by providing free health care, the government can also earn the faith and loyalty of its people.

Another factor that explains why we need free health care is the proportion of people living below the poverty line. In many developing countries, the poverty index is quite high and people cannot even afford basic medication hence, they are largely dependent on government agencies for assistance when they develop a health problem. Lastly, it is clearly evident that our generation has considerably low immunity levels because of the low quality of the food we eat. These days, fruits, vegetables and grains are treated with pesticides which reduce their nutrient value also, food available outside is mostly of low quality. These factors also lead to an unhealthy society.

To conclude, it is necessary that we keep ourselves fit and healthy by eating quality foods and leading an active lifestyle. This, however, does not mean that the government has no responsibility towards building a healthy society. It should contribute its bit by providing subsidized or free health care.