Higher education could be funded in three ways. All costs paid by government, all costs paid by students or students paying all costs through a government loan. What are the advantages of these choices?

Education plays an important part in people’s lives. This essay will discuss the advantages of the three choices available for funding ones education namely; all costs being borne by the government, all costs borne by the student or students paying all costs by taking a government loan.

The biggest advantage of the government paying for all costs is that, education will become affordable resulting in increasing literacy levels in the country. Currently, a lot of children do not pursue undergraduate courses as they are unable to afford the tution and boarding fees. A recent article in “The Times of India” suggested that almost 56% of eligible children did not pursue higher education because of affordability. With the responsibility being taken by the government even low income group parents will be able to enrol their kids for higher education.

The primary advantage of having the students pay for higher education is ownership and accountability. The costs involved in education are so high that the student will ensure that they put in extra effort to get their money’s worth. This in turn will ensure higher success rates of students graduating.

Lastly, the advantage of having students pay for their education by taking a government loan are two-fold. Firstly, the student is eased of the pressure of arranging funds and secondly, the student will get the loan at competitive rates for the government making it relatively easy for the student to repay the loan. Oxford and Cambridge have recently reported that 15% of students who take student loans from banks are unable to pay their monthly instalments due to the high interest rates.

In conclusion, from the three choices available, I am of the opinion that the first option of the government paying for higher education is the best option. Of course there will be some disadvantages, but the advantages far outweigh the disadvantages and hence this is a favoured option.