Human activity has had a negative impact on plants and animals around the world. Some people think that this can not be changed, while others believe actions can be taken to bring about a change. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Since industrialisation, we are exploiting nature to its extreme. A section of society believes that time has slipped from our hands and there is nothing left to act upon, whereas other believes that we have time to take decisive action to curtail its effects. In my opinion, we have time to reverse the damages done to our mother nature by reducing pollution and planting trees.

To begin with, pollution is the biggest contributor in damaging our ecosystem. Everyday vehicles and industries are emitting tonnes of carbon and other global warming gases, which is raising earth’s temperature by 0.25% in every five years. We must change our ways of living by limiting the ways of fossil fuels in transportation and industrial sector by switching to renewable sources of energy. A recent initiative of Indian Government is to switch all existing public transport system from petrol or diesel to battery operated fleets in order to curb pollution by 2025.

Additionally, limiting the burning of fossil fuel alone with not help tremendously unless we device a methodology to lower pollution level. We must plant more trees that feed on carbon dioxide and other pollutants present in air. This will not only help in trapping harmful gases, but it will also help in reducing earth’s temperature and the icing on the cake will be by making our surrounding green.

On the flip side, it is been long debated that we have damaged our earth to a limit where we do not have enough time to undo devastating effects. Many species are extinct and lots have been marked as endangered, but we cannot sit idle and wait for the catastrophic failure of our planet. We must put our undivided best to heal our mother nature and there are huge changes that we will succeed.

To conclude, we have damaged our planet by burning fossil fuel and we must stop this practice by switching to renewable sources of energy by planting trees to tap pollutants. To my mind, it is not too late to save our planet and we must deploy measures to switch to clean energy and enhance our green cover.