Immigration has a major impact on society. What are the main reasons of immigration? To what consequences can it lead?

To what extent do you agree or disagree with these statement?

It is often argued that immigration nowaday has a significant impact on modern society. One of the main reasons of immigration is that it can create multi-cultural societies. Although I agree there are benefits, I believe that immigration can also discriminate in certain cultures.

To begin with, most migrants have different backgrounds. It is a positive influence on society when they start to live in a foreign country because they bring new values and language. For example, when I was studying in Australia, I could always see a variety of restaurants and people talking in different languages on the street, because Australia is a multicultural society that is made up of a wide range of cultures. Therefore, immigration can create a society that has attraction and diversity.

On the other hand, people of many different nationalities live together in the same places which have different values and lifestyles. It is possible to cause intention and conflict because of misunderstanding from each other. For instance, the local stores might worry that migrants can not speak their language, and choose not to serve them. Furthermore, some people could be affected by costume or appearance regarding specific immigration as an enemy. As a result, despite immigration bring the diverse cultures into society, it also causes discrimination.

To sum up, this essay has argued that the major reason which causes an important impact on society. In my opinion, I agree with the statement that immigration not only create a multi-cultural society but also can lead to serious consequences.