The impact of the growing demand of more flights has had on the environment is a major concern for many countries. Some people believe that one way to limit the number of people travelling by air is to increase tax on flights.

To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is often argued that more want of flights has an impact on the environment and it can be reduced if heavy taxes are levied on it. I strongly disagree with this opinion as levying taxes is not only the way to reduce air pollution as increased number of international and domestic flights has contributed a lot in the air pollution.

First of all, I believe that due to the ease of travelling through aero planes has now contributed in decreasing the quality of air. People can now afford to travel through air that was really not simple a few years back. In order to balance, there is a need to increase the cost of aviation fuel that in turn will increase operating cost of flights and tickets will be sold at higher rates. For example, affluent people can buy tickets for international travel but will restrict themselves travelling now and then. Furthermore, it will be seen that domestic travelling through flights will decrease and will lead to reduced pollutant in the air. Thus, this will combat the pollution effects and creates a scope to develop alternative transport system for inland travel.

Secondly, in order to keep the air free from all sort of pollution due to fuel it is also important to keep an eye on the design of the aeroplane. Now it has been observed that the vertical tail of the aeroplane has been reduced in order to use less fuel. For instance, it is reported in media that electric aircrafts produce 20% lower emission levels per passenger compared to fuel-run models. Therefore, it will lead to reduced air pollution with alternative methods to be used.

To recapitulate, I would emphasize on using the alternative sources for air travel so as to limitize the pollution caused due to fuel.