With the increased global demand in oil and gas undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources To what extent do you agree

In today’s world oil and gas have become the most essential products for all of the countries. Many people demand that the resources which have not been accessed yet should be opened up for business. This essay explores why it is important to preserve them and their affects when exploited.

Firstly, exploiting natural resources poses a catastrophic threat to the ecosystem of the region. In addition to it, most of these resources are found in critical parts of the world which contain sensitive eco systems. Tampering them affects the coastal cities and regions in particular. For example, recently the government of Andhra Pradesh has sanctioned permission to multiple companies to build Oil refineries at a mangrove forest called Coranga National Forest which protects the coastal region from natural disasters like Tsunami and Hurricanes. These regions when destroyed can never develop again which puts the entire region in danger during such calamities.

Secondly, when more and more oil and gas are produced, it leads to more pollution since the production and consumption of oil generates many dangerous chemicals which are discharged into air and water bodies. Such actions prove to be hazardous to the lives of people and the environment. Recently, a study published by a reputed university suggested that people living in close proximity to industrial areas are more likely to get affected with diseases like cancer due to the dangerous levels of pollution in air and water bodies. Governments of some western countries have taken initiatives to reduce the consumption of natural resources like Oil and Gas and convert to green technologies like Solar and Wind power.

To summarize, it is very important to preserve the natural resources which are natural protectors and the support systems of all forms of life. It is best to convert towards renewable energy sources as alternatives which are unlimited.