Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve the growing traffic and pollution problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Nowadays, transportation and pollution problems are of major concern. It is often believed that the problem of congestion and environmental pollution could be reduced by increasing fuel costs. I strongly disagree, as global issues like environmental contamination and a rise in traffic, require more practical and long-term solutions, instead of just relying on the petrol price.

Some people believe that expensive fuel could reduce the usage of various transport modes, as well as pollution, as it would accessible only to a limited number of people. As fewer people use it, the roads will have less congestion that in turn, improve the air quality index. It is also believed that higher fuel cost limits the purchasing power of the consumer and people will turn to move to economical options like riding bikes and walking. For example, during a pandemic. as fewer people travel, there is less congestion on the roads, and global pollution decreases.

In my opinion, the rise in congestion and pollution issues needs serious attention and practical solutions. Effort and energy need to be directed towards long-term and efficient options such as improved transport systems like Metro and trams. They have the capacity to accommodate more people, cut travel time, reduce traffic flow and it’s a greener approach. For example, in Turkey, people prefer to travel by trams or metro to commute to work and travel. Another viable option could be to annually test/check different vehicles and do proper maintenance. Also, beneficial would discourage the use of old vehicles as it emits more harmful gases and contaminates the environment.

Research has been carried out on the relationship between pollution and the growth of public transport. Some argued that a decent approach is to increase fuel prices. But in my opinion, instead of wasting efforts on fuel cost, it's better to move towards sustainable options like efficient, fast and green transport mode and frequent vehicle inspection.