Intelligence is most important component for leadership. Do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion and support it with adequate examples.

It is thought by some people that intelligence is the number one in priority among qualities that successful leader need. This opinion implies that choosing the manager of a company or facility employers should pay attention only to the level of intelligence of possible leader. I totally disagree with this statement, as there few equally important features leader should have.

To begin with, ability to communicate with people is very important for a leader. The leader can understand the problem related to manufacturing or technical issues, and the same time fail these issues due the human factor. Before taking particular measurements manager ought to be able to motivate people, to be aware about his employees’ abilities and list goes on and on. To give a clear example, two years ago Ukrainian travelling company lost more than 50 clients, because their well-trained manager couldn’t be polite and outgoing with clients. When someone called him, he was very rude with answers, dropped the phone in the middle of conversation and other things he should haven’t done. As a result, people complained his behavior and this man was fired. But the company couldn’t return their clients.

The second essential feature is integrity. In modern world the possibility of stealing is very high. Sorry to say, there is a huge number of people who have been fired or put in the prison for the last decade due theft, abusing the power and other criminal activities. The interest fact is that most of them are highly intelligent people. Thus, the former president of Ukraine was caught with a great deal of illegal possessions, which were stolen from county’s population.

In conclusion, the intelligence is very important for leadership, however this ability is not crucial. The features, as honesty and ability to understand people are equally important for this purpose.