International travel is becoming cheaper, and more and more countries open their door and with more and more tourists.Do the advantages of the increased tourism outweigh its disadvantages?

Global tourism is significantly growing than ever before because of cheap flight charges, and thus many countries are providing opportunities to tourists. There are a couple of advantages of such a trend such as growth in the country's economy and an individual’s career. However, there are drawbacks that cannot be overlooked such as, terrorism. In my perspective, I profoundly believe that the disadvantages of tourism outweigh the advantages of such a tendency.

There are multifarious pros of tourism. To begin with, globalization has brought benefits to the world such as growth in the tourism industry, which indirectly helps in the development of the country’s economy. To elaborate, as the flight charges are reduced, many tourists are inclined to visit various countries to enjoy the beauties of the city, increase the vacation period, which ultimately leads to the growth in transportation, entertainment and accommodation industries. Recent demographics of India show that, due to tourism, the country’s value has increased, as 37 million visitors visited in the past 9 month’s period. Moreover, due to tourism, more working opportunities are opened to an individual which could be helpful in career growth.

Despite the above-said advantages, I believe that tourism has disadvantages associated, such as terrorism, which has become a global concern now. As the flight charges are reduced and people are allowed to enter the country for economic growth, the authorities overlook the people’s activities after entering the nation. This is because, every individual is given permission as a visitor, travels across the country and thus the terrorists take this advantage and attack the country. For instance, a recent terrorist attack in India is a live example to show how tourism has affected many people’s lives.

To conclude, even though there are many advantages of tourism such as the country’s economic and individual growth, I strongly believe that the terrorist attack, which is a concern now outweighs the advantages tourism brings.