The internet has greatly increased our access to information. To what extent do you think this is a good thing?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Internet is a quite recent invention which came in existence during later part of the 20th century. Despite of shorter time span, it has shown tremendous capabilities to spread across the world. Not only it reach to widespread people but also it has expanded itself with enormous content. No one can deny that facts that internet provided reach to an ocean of information. In my views, it is very beneficial for the world as a whole.

There is an endless list of advantages for such availability of endless information. Firstly, it has become a wish come true for students. For example, educational videos, short notes, cue cards and many more content can be downloaded by merely using their handheld devices. Secondly, self-leaners are another beneficiaries of this information. Furthermore, apart from educational content, world news, history related information can also be accessed quickly. Misrepresentation of facts and spreading myths is not as easy as it used to be before that advent of internet. Verification of facts is merely a click away from you.

By flipping the coin, we need to consider the dark angle as well before arriving at any conclusion. Among demerits of abundance of information, its misuse has become easy. Many youngster are accessing pornography, adultery and alike information. Accordingly, youth is indulging into bad habits and spoiling their health. Additionally, excessive use of electronic gadget is also a result of endless information. Besides useful information, there are several fake website and content providers which are build up to implant malwares and spywares with the intent of hacking. With the speed of sharing information, personal life is losing its importance and getting shared over social media.

To summarize, though there is a misuse of available information, but with adequate care, it will result in enormous possibilities and favorable results. Thus, its benefits outweighs the costs to be borne for its use.