The Internet provides us with information about life and cultures of different countries and some people say it is not necessary to visit these countries to learn about them. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your opinion and relevant examples.

Thanks to the advancement in the field of information technology it is quite convenient to people to know about the different cultures and lifestyles from different part of the world on the contrary to olden days when people would travel a lot to know about the citizens of other nations and their traditions and customs. However, I believe that visiting other parts of the world would give good exposure and experience where any technology fails.

Admittedly, the human being has grown up to a level where they can have anything by sitting in their bedroom. Even modern schools, hospitals and business centres have equipped with many gadgets and instruments which help them to get access to world-class libraries which are located in different universities in different countries, to avail medical treatments including major operations from without travelling, and arranging business meetings without sparing much of time. Hence, these facilities have proved that it is a waste of time and money to commute to different parts of the world for different purposes.

However, the advocates who stand in favour of travelling commonly say that it is a major contributor to one’s personality and experience where technology lacks. In other words, when individuals move to other areas of the globe giving chances to socialize and face different issues a person’s confidence and lifestyle will get renovated. It further leads him/her to be more empathetic and supportive to fellow human beings as he/she knows about the harsh realities of life people suffer beyond the boundaries own nation. As the history of many great personalities proves they gained a page in history as a result of travelling beyond the hills and seas.

To conclude, although state-of-the-art technology has a strong hand in providing in-depth and real-time knowledge about the lives of people from other sides of the planet earth without commuting, I feel that travelling to those continents only gives the real knowledge and experience to the people making them a perfect social animal.