Should animals be used in testing new drugs and procedures?

The modern rise of animal testing has been prevalent for approximately 150 years. Millions of animals were used in research to progress scientific understanding, to develop explanations to medical problems, and to create a barrier or safety net for people. While animal testing has contributed to a significant amount of life-saving medicines and treatments, it is also considered inhumane. This essay shall discuss both the viewpoints before reaching a reasonable conclusion.

On the unitary hand, those who oppose the testing of medicines on animals strongly criticise the practices followed in experiments such as forced feeding, forced inhalation, food and water deprivation, prolonged periods of physical restraint and many severe other ways. To put it in another way, they believe that finding medicines for human existence by sacrificing some animals does not justify that man is the sole custodian of the planet. Hence, on the moral ground, such experiments must be considered unethical and there must be a ban on such acts.

Yet, a host of individuals believe such testing should be supported based on the breakthroughs such experiments have produced in developing vaccinations and medications for several epidemics and deadly diseases from the earth. Being the carriers of infectious bacteria and viruses, some animals such as pigs deserve to be tested for diagnosing. Diseases such as cholera, rabies and polio are wiped out from the world as a result of relentless efforts from scientists which further strengthens the view that the world is in need of such experiments.

Analysing both the aspects of the situation, I opine that the sacrifice of a minimal proportion of animals can be prioritised by ensuring mercy to the animals while being tested as long as the tests save lives worth millions.