It has been suggested that all young adults should be required to undertake a period of unpaid work helping people in the community Would the drawbacks of such a requirement be greater than the benefits to the community and the individual young adults

It is a long time that these is a hot discussion among the users of social media regarding mandatory unpaid work for young adults. In this essay we would try to examine the pros and cons of such a requirement in relation to the communities and the individual young adults.

In many countries mandatory military services have been part of their laws. Normally in these countries people in the age of 18, especially eighteen-years-old boys, have to spend one or three years of their life in armies without or with a low range salaries.

However, such kind of requirements later changed in most of the advanced countries. Many countries eliminated any kind of unpaid services because of its disadvantages in comparison to its advantages.

Despite in the first glance it seems communities can benefit from a huge source of man power for free, but with a deeper look, some other negative consequences of such laws can be detected.

It has been said, it is something similar to nightmares for many juveniles to spend some years of their life for free. Particularly when someone does not like that duty or the environment that he or she has to work in.

Therefore, in many societies decided to cancel any law which force people to spend the most valuable time of their life for any kind of unpaid obligatory tasks.

In conclusion, although there could be some short-term benefits for communities by having laws that force young people to work for free for a specific period of their life, but due to the negative impacts that such laws can have in long-term on people of that societies, it is not recommended to keep these kind of laws and regulations.