It has been suggested that everyone in the world wants to own a car, a TV, and a fridge. Do you think the disadvantages of such a development outweigh the advantages?

These days, there is a firm belief amongst the folk that the modern technological inventions like automobiles and modern home appliances should be an integral part of the families. However, such advancements on numreous occasions impact adversely. However, In this case the benefits outweigh the drawbacks.

Considering the positive side, the modern inventions have transformed the human race drastically, starting from the healthcare to space travel, everywhere you can see and feel the positive impact of it and It acts like a catalyst for the path of the development. Even, the sector of personal mobility and household durables, is not left untouched and has transformed significantly. It has brought the flexibility and comfort in end-users’ lives. To cite an example, the personal car has reduced the individual’s dependency on public transport and opened up the whole new domain of personal travel.

Downside of it, these technological advancements increases the human dependence by making them vulnerable and immobile at times due to the erosion of alternatives. Specifically, in the case of refrigerators, the food producers and consumers, both relay heavily on the refrigeration at home for a numerous food items and non-availability of it makes plethora of perishables non edible.

All in all, I firmly believe that these advancements have a larger and positive impact on the society than the limitations it bring with it. The person should always be more cognisant, considerate and flexible while consuming these and must not become fully dependent on it.