It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

It is true that teaching children to differentiate right and wrong at their early stage is significant. While I agree that some sorts of punishment can help to achieve the goal. I believe that reward will be more useful when teaching young children. However, no matter what kind of methods are using, physical punishment should be prohibited.

On one hand, the aim of punishment is to let the kid learn a lesson. Being punished by doing bad things can let the children know what they are doing is wrong. For example, there is a place called time-out corner in a kindergarten. If a kid bully other kids during playing, he will send to the corner for 15 minutes and not allowed to play. By doing this, a clear message is sent to the kid that bulling others is a bad behaviour, and he knows the consequence. This probably helps to stop him to behaving bad in the further.

On the other hand, learning right and wrong can be achieved by reward. People feel happy when they are rewarded. Kids remember the feeling of happiness is longer than that of sadness. When kids are doing great, we can reward them by some ways, like praising them or treating them a candy. They feel content when they are praised or rewarded. They will keep doing the good job. This really helps them to recognise what is right thing to do.

In conclusion, establishing a correct moral standard for young children can be achieved by both punishment and reward. But physical punishment should be prohibited.